Virginia Racing Commission

MINUTES

OF THE

COMMISSION MEETING

December 14, 2022

Colonial Downs Ballroom, 4th Floor 10515 Colonial Downs Parkway New Kent, VA 23124

In Attendance Commission Members:

> Stephanie B. Nixon, Chair Marsha K. Hudgins, Vice Chair Stuart Siegel John F. Tanner Jr.

Commission Staff:

David S. Lermond, Jr., Executive Secretary Kimberly C. Mackey, Director of Operations Dr. Ada Caruthers, Equine Medical Director

Attorney General's Office: Elizabeth B. Myers, Esquire

At 11:03 a.m., Chairman Siegel called the monthly meeting of the Virginia Racing Commission (VRC) to order.

Commissioner Brand nominated Commissioner Nixon as the Chair. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Chairman Siegel, aye; Commissioner Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Tanner nominated Commissioner Hudgins as the Vice Chair. The motion was seconded by Chairman Nixon and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye, Commissioner Hudgins, aye; Chairman Nixon, aye, Commissioner Tanner, aye; Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on June 8, 2022. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Commissioner

Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

During the public comment period, John Marshall expressed sincere appreciation for the progress that has been made regarding horse racing in Virginia and the relationships formed with the Commission and stakeholders.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the Significant Infrastructure Limited License including Thoroughbred Race Days for 2023 submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC, including the conditions set forth in the staff report. The motion was seconded by Chair Nixon and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the License applications submitted by Colonial Downs Group, LLC to Conduct Pari-Mutuel Wagering on Historical Horse Racing at Rosie's – New Kent, Rosie's – Richmond, Rosie's – Vinton, Rosie's – Hampton, Rosie's – Dumfries, and Rosie's – Collinsville for 2023 with the conditions set forth in the staff reports. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the extension of the current Thoroughbred Horsemen's contract through January 31, 2023, giving Executive Secretary Lermond the authority to approve the new contract on behalf of the Commission. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve a Limited License for Shenandoah County Agricultural Foundation for Spring 2023 at Shenandoah Downs. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve racing officials at Shenandoah Downs for 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Chair Nixon moved to approve the 2023 Advance Deposit Wagering (ADW) renewal license applications submitted by Twinspires, TVG, Xpressbet, and NYRAbets with two conditions. The motion was seconded by Vice Chair Hudgins and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Brand moved to approve the VEA operating budget for 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Siegel and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, abstain; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Tanner moved to approve the VTA breeders fund administration budget for 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve Breeder Awards in the amount of \$975,000 and Stallion Awards in the amount of \$75,000 from the Thoroughbred portion of the Virginia Breeders Fund related to 2022. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Commissioner Siegel moved to approve the VHHA breeders fund administration budget for 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Vice Chair Hudgins moved to approve the VHHA benevolence budget for 2023. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Tanner and the vote was as follows: Commissioner Siegel, aye; Vice Chair Hudgins, aye; Chair Nixon, aye; Commissioner Tanner, aye; Commissioner Brand, aye.

Jack Sours reported on this year's live meet at Colonial Downs.

Debbie Warnick reported on harness racing at Shenandoah Downs.

Dr. William Allison reported on their two days of live racing at Great Meadow.

Jeb Hannum and Debbie Easter reported on the Virginia Horse Industry Strategic Planning committee report.

David Lermond reported on plans for hiring three new full-time positions for 2023.

With no further business set forth on the agenda, Commissioner Siegel moved to adjourn the meeting at 1:14 p.m. The motion was seconded by Commissioner Brand and the vote was as follows: Vice Chairman Siegel, aye; Hudgins, aye; Nixon, aye; Chairman Reynolds, aye; Tanner, aye.